Conversation Corner
Family Corner (The Shepherd’s Viewpoint--March 2003)

Was there ever a time when you wandered off and lost your spiritual awareness? Who or what brought you back?

Date: 3/5/2003 1:07:53 AM
Name or Pseudonym: Carlie
Subject: Wandering and coming back

Like you, J., I went to a Catholic school, through grade school. Then I transferred to public schools, and went to a secular college. But that was back in the 60s and 70s. I drifted from my faith while in the secular universities, into agnosticism, especially after an intruder confronted me in my apt. He pointed a gun at me and wrappped my head in adhesive tape and handcuffed my hands behind my back. I remember saying, "OH MY GOD!" when I saw him. Then before he could harm me, he was frightened away. I was a very innocent university student. Let me put it that way. I guess I still hadn’t realized that it was God who had come to my help, for I drifted further away from God. But God had not forgotten me. Honestly, I don’t know what I was thinking. Moving away from the faith left me open to involvement in a relationship I shouldn’t have gotten into. I married someone I was apparently not compatible with, and after about 14 years of marriage, my husband left me because he wanted to date. This was a little after the fact, of course, and out of charity I will spare you the details. But in the course of a long marriage to someone who didn’t really want to be married to me, I came across the phenomenon of Medjugorje. At first I was skeptical, but as I read about the apparitions, the words spoke to my heart. I knew from things I had read when I was young that this had to be a valid case, and I investigated only to find miracles occurring in my own life. That was just the beginning, and it has continued for many years now. I live alone and faithful to the teachings of the church, and my soul is at peace. I wouldn’t give up the Blessed Sacrament or my peace for any kind of sin. If any of you out there are thin