Synod Journal

Synod Delegates From North America

U.S. Cardinals
William W. Baum, penitentiary major (Vatican)
Bernard F. Law, archbishop of Boston
John J. O'Connor, archbishop of New York
James A. Hickey, archbishop of Washington
Edmund C. Szoka, president of the Prefecture for Economic Affairs (Vatican)
Roger M. Mahony, archbishop of Los Angeles
Anthony J. Bevilacqua, archbishop of Philadelphia
William H. Keeler, archbishop of Baltimore
Adam J. Maida, archbishop of Detroit

Canadian Cardinals
Eduoard Gagnon, P.S.S., president of the Committee for Eucharistic Congresses (Vatican)
Jean-Claude Turcotte, archbishop of Montreal

Elected Delegates From
U.S. and Canada

U.S. Archbishops
Daniel E. Pilarczyk of Cincinnati
Justin F. Rigali of St. Louis
Rembert G. Weakland, O.S.B., of Milwaukee
Patrick F. Flores of San Antonio
Francis E. George, O.M.I., of Chicago
John C. Favalora of Miami
Theodore E. McCarrick of Newark
Oscar H. Lipscomb of Mobile

U.S. Bishops
Donald E. Pelotte, S.S.S., of Gallup
John H. Ricard, S.S.J., of Pensacola-Tallahassee
John S. Cummins of Oakland
Ricardo Ramirez, C.S.B., of Las Cruces
Donald W. Wuerl of Pittsburgh
Bishop Raymundo J. Pena of Brownsville
Roberto O. Gonzalez of Corpus Christi

Canadian Archbishops
Francis J. Spence of Kingston
Marcel A. Gervais of Ottawa
Maurice Couture, R.S.V., of Quebec
Roger Ebacher of Gatineau-Hull
Andre Gaumond of Sherbooke
Henri Goudreault, O.M.I., of Grouard-McLennan

Canadian Bishops
Anthony F. Tonnos of Hamilton
Raymond J. Lahey of Saint George's
Gerald Weisner, O.M.I., of Prince George
James M. Wingle of Yarmouth

Delegates Appointed by the Pope

Archbishop William J. Levada of San Francisco
Archbishop Charles J. Chaput, O.F.M., of Denver
Msgr. Dennis M. Schnurr, general secretary of the National Conference of Catholic Bishops
Father Richard Neuhaus, director of the Institute on Religion and Public Policy.

Archbishop Peter A. Sutton, O.M.I., of Keewatin-Le Pas
Bishop Jacques Berthelet of Saint-Jean-Longueuil
Sulpician Father Emilius Goulet, P.S.S., general secretary of the Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops.

Officers of the Synod, Appointed by the Pope

Presidents (who will take turns chairing the Synod)
U.S. Cardinal Roger M. Mahony of Los Angeles
Brazilian Cardinal Eugenio de Araujo Sales of Rio de Janeiro
Colombian Archbishop Dario Castrillon Hoyos, pro-prefect of the Vatican Congregation for Clergy.

Recording Secretary
Mexican Cardinal Juan Sandoval Iniguez of Guadalajara

Special Secretaries
Archbishop Francis E. George, O.M.I., of Chicago
Archbishop Estanislao Esteban Karlic of Parana, president of the Argentine bishops' conference

Concluding Synod Message Drafting Committee
President: Cardinal Jean-Claude Turcotte of Montreal
Vice presidents: Archbishop Theodore E. McCarrick of Newark
Archbishop Kelvin E. Felix of Castries, St. Lucia, part of the British West Indies

Information Commission
President: Archbishop Oscar Rodriguez Maradiaga of Tegucigalpa, Honduras, president of the Honduran bishops' conference and of the Latin American bishops' council.
Vice presidents: Bishop Raymundo J. Pena of Brownsville, Texas
Archbishop Luciano Mendes de Almeida of Mariana, Brazil

Return to Synod Journal Home

Paid Advertisement
Ads contrary to Catholic teachings should be reported to our webmaster. Include ad link.

An Web Site from the Franciscans and
Franciscan Media     ©1996-2016 Copyright